Fast Five

I stumbled across this post on a blog called Rakes and Rascals this morning and thought it looked fun.

All you have to do is answer the following questions:

1. Which novel are you currently reading and who is the author?

2. What is the opening line of the book?

3. What are the hero and heroine’s names? (on the remote chance you’re not reading a romance, give the name of the main character).

4. What is the first sentence of the second paragraph of Chapter 9?

5. What’s next on your TBR pile?

 

Here are my answers:

I’m currently reading two books – but since one ( The Complete First Edition: The Original Folk & Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm, translated & edited by Jack Zipes) is a collection of stories, I’ll use the second book for these questions.

1. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, by J.K. Rowling (yes, for the millionth time)

2. Not for the first time, an argument had broken out over breakfast at number four, Privet Drive.

3. Harry Potter, Ron Weasley, and Hermione Granger.

4Attracted no doubt by Malfoy’s shout, Argus Filch came shouldering his way through the crowd.

5. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling OR Home: A Memoir of My Early Years by Julie Andrews

 

What are YOU reading today?

13 thoughts on “Fast Five

  1. 1. In Search of Schrödinger’s Cat by John Gribbin. It’s not a novel, but a book on Quantum Physics.

    2. “Isaac Newton invented physics, and all of science depends on physics.”

    3. Erm…

    4. “There is an improvement on the Copenhagen interpretation (not a refutation or counterproposal) that still includes this essential symmetry, and that best-buy picture of quantum reality will be described in Chapter Eleven.”

    5. Dodger by Sir Terry Pratchett. In fact, I’ll be taking a break from Quantum Theory to read that one first.

    • Oh man…physics. Cheers to you, my good man, for undertaking that one! Let’s just say it’s not my favorite subject….haha I’d take a break with Terry Prachett too! Sounds like In Search of Schrodinger’s Cat is something that really takes time to digest and get through. Good luck and thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. Pingback: A Pratchett Memorial Book Haul | if all else fails…use a hammer

  3. 1. “Wonderbook: The Ilustrated Guide to Creating Imaginative Fiction” by Jeff VanderMeer (it’s the coolest book on writing I’ve ever read)
    2. “Welcome to Wonderbook. Before you begin, check your supplies.”
    3. Umm…I guess the hero/heroine is whomever you think of.
    4. There’re only 7 chapters so I’ll go with the chapter I randomly open up to which is Chapter 6: “I make this observation about worldbuilding to point out that even “realistic” fiction is not really all that realistic–any more than fictional dialogue of most sorts is like speech in real life.”
    5. Between You & Me: Confessions of a Comma Queen by Mary Norris but I really should finish one of the many books I’ve begun.

  4. We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, by Karen Joy Fowler. “Those who know me now will be surprised to learn that I was a great talker as a child.” The central character is Rosemary. The book’s fantastic, and I get very cranky when I finish a book I like and, as much as I want to pick up something next, I don’t want to pick up anything else. So I don’t know what I’ll read next. I only finished it last night. Since then, I’ve been reading the weekend’s newspaper.

    • Oh I know what you mean! When I finish a book I really love, that I’ve been into, it feels like being roughly snapped back into reality. I’m never ready to go back to my world or dive into a new one.

Leave a Reply

